Trusting people becomes more scarce

Natserract

Natserract

Feb 03, 2024

Trusting people becomes more scarce

People start talking about what they want, their ideas, how great they are, and how they survive. It's quite natural for people to share their stories with those closest to them, just like a cat feels safe and trusting with its owner. These people grabbed my attention, without feeling awkward sitting with them.

I really like this part, being a listener, hearing their stories and taking some lessons from them. I guess I'm a good listener. Most of the times I feel what they feel, ask questions they might like, all while judging if something is right or wrong.

However, I felt a little scared...

I started thinking.. IS IT ME? where other people become the priority, sacrificing myself for my expectations of them. I'm always trying to please people around me, feeling responsible for their feelings, and afraid of disappointing them.

When they started feeling comfortable enough, they got more than they wanted. It gets to where they get caught up in their own mistakes and then treat others for their own gain. Everything's fake!

It became a serious problem, something wasn't working. I felt hopeless, resentment was creeping in, guilt was piling up. I tried several things just to feel happier, tried my best, but nothing seemed to work. Often afraid to try again. Because I just want to avoid the pain!

Trusting people becomes more scarce, ironic!

Are they too embarrassed to admit it? Or are they unaware of what they've done? Ohhh... It seems I'm getting closer to a situation where no one is responsible for what they do, instead we are responsible for what others do.

Am I being too sensitive?

At this point, I will try to think objectively. Often in life, events occur that we truly can't control. Companies lay off employees, spouses leave their partners, family members fall ill, or loved ones pass away.

Like agarwood, it will be more fragrant because of the fire that burns.

In this noisy world, I have learned from myself-that, this is something that has already been written:

"Perhaps you dislike something which is good for you and like something which is bad for you. Allah knows and you do not know." (Al-Baqarah:216)

Basically, I was brought together with these people for a reason. Good people give you happiness, bad people give you experience, the worst people give you a lesson, and the best people give you memories.

I've found myself; I need to look around with colored glasses. You are not what others think you are! Everyone has a different perspective, lower your ego and expectations of others.

This is the dynamic of social interaction. So unique! Patience, sincerity and honesty are so tested, "And we have made some of you a trial for others. Will you not then be patient? And your Lord is All-Seeing. (Al-Furqan:20)".

.

.

.

.

To this day, I am still learning...